Running for Colour – Color Run UK

Fitness

A Color Run had been on my bucket list since they first hit the UK, and exploded all over my social media sites, last year. I had wanted to sign up to a fun run/race to keep me motivated in my running, so when I saw the Color Run was coming to Sunderland this July, I rallied some friends together and signed up. As it happened, I shortly after disappeared travelling for four months and returned home just a couple of weeks before the run took place and I wasn’t anywhere near as prepared as I wanted to be. Even though the run is only 5K, I was anxious about my lack of practice but the only person who was bothered about my performance not being good enough, was myself.

Arriving in Sunderland and seeing the swarms of ‘Color Runners’ heading to the start line in their temporarily white T-Shirts I felt the buzz of excitement and any unnecessary anxiety was diminished. Aside from the gallons of coloured powder thrown over you at each Kilometre, the most refreshing thing about the event was that it encouraged everyone to take part. All ages, all sizes and all abilities can revel in the truly unique experience without worrying about how fit you are or the pressure of winning. The race isn’t timed, and no one is judging whether you run, walk or dance your way to the finish line but you still get that sense of achievement and rush of endorphins as you cross the finish line. It’s the ‘happiest 5K on the planet!’

Until next year, here’s a taster of the day’s colour!

IMG_0122 IMG_0123 IMG_0136 IMG_0145 IMG_0160 IMG_0162 IMG_0163 IMG_0178 IMG_0184 IMG_0187 IMG_0188 IMG_0158 Photography by Same Page Arts – www.samepagearts.wordpress.com @samepagearts

Leave a Reply

